January 19, 2012 at 12:27 pm 2 comments


Some of my newer work is mixed media with encaustic on paper with silk.
Some of the encaustic elements are under the silk and some are added after the silk has been applied to the surface. In places the silk is cut away to expose the mixed media work beneath.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Brookside Garden’s Show Aug. 16th to Oct. 10

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rose Versace  |  March 30, 2012 at 3:49 am

    Hello
    I really like your work and from your blog, I see you were a close friend of Dorothea Scarpa. I see some similarities in your style of work. Dorothea and my father were first cousins. I would love to connect with you and learn more about her – I am sure there are some INCREDIBLE stories to tell, just based on my childhood recollections of her. My email address is Included in info on this posting. I’d love to connect with you of you are willing. If so, please send an email and we can figure out the details. Many thanks. Rose Versace

    Reply
    • 2. jamiedowns  |  March 30, 2012 at 6:57 pm

      Hi Rose, Dorothea was a friend. I’m flattered that you see a similarity in our work. Dorothea and I worked together for many years at A.Family of Artists. We worked with at risk kids, seniors and others like head trauma patients, etc as well as kids from the community in our summer camps. I got to know Ted, Papa and Dorothea’s aunt very well. My children loved her and we shared many good times. I especially enjoyed our trips to NYC and her insider views.

      I am forwarding your message to another friends of hers so that she can share their stories too. Victoria and Dorothea also traveled together.

      Thanks for getting in touch. Jamie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Keep up to date….

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 558 other followers


