Still working on Harriton Carved Glass

February 23, 2008 at 11:37 pm 5 comments

We spent the last few days with Lynn Harriton. She brought an actual copy of the earliest catalog so I will be updating the photos soon. The old zeroxed images were so bad….

Also we found some new leads and images. We could not find an image on the web of the glass with fishes made famous in The Godfather…”Luca Brasi sleeps with the fishes”… Looking for it was enough to give me nightmares of my own final season of The Sopranos.

This is a big project…looking for information and collecting images, and then boiling it down and putting it on a site that is worthy of the Harriton aesthetic.

If anyone has ideas, links, images of suggestions, they are certainly welcome.

glass_partition_for_dc_airport.jpg

Howard L . Chaney created this design for Harriton Carved Glass. It was to be at National Airport, but was not executed. The piece is gouache on board, 18.5 x 30 and done in 1940. It is a beauty isn’t it?

Entry filed under: art, Art Gallery, Art Glass, Fine Crafts, Sculpture.

New Work Brookside Garden’s Show Aug. 16th to Oct. 10

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. FriendOfLynne's  |  May 4, 2008 at 6:27 am

    This is off topic, I’m sorry, but I’m an old friend of Lynne’s and have lost touch with her. Wondering if you could pass my email along to her? And, yes, the work above is beautiful!

    Reply
  • 2. Rob Strovers  |  September 11, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    I’ve attached link to images I’ve taken of the Harriton Carved Glass piece on the 300 Sixth Ave building in Pittsburgh. I’d love to know more about it…but details seem really sketchy and hard to find.

    Reply
  • 3. alan glasser  |  January 16, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Hello,
    I will foward you some photos of a harriton nyc
    carved blue glass,art deco,panel I purchased some years ago.
    Im happy to see you will fill a gap of information for this little known artist.
    with your upcomming web. effort..

    Reply
  • 4. Jamie Downs  |  January 22, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Great. That would be wonderful. I am tring to get to the development of this web page. I agree that there is a gap to fill.

    Reply
    • 5. hello jaimie  |  April 26, 2009 at 3:25 pm

      could you please send me a way I can attach photo to you
      or ,eventually I will figure it out.
      sorry for the delay response.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Flickr Photos

Keep up to date….

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 581 other followers

Jamie Downs


