New Work

February 18, 2008 at 10:18 pm 8 comments

dspapier3op.jpg

Here is some of my new work. I’m having a lot of fun with mixed media and paper. I’m thinking of embedding these in Envirotec . I haven’t decided yet.

Check out Eleanor Clarkson’s work on our other site http://www.thedigitalfolklife.org. It’s on the Peace page – a show in Stroudsburg, PA just before the war started. Eleanor is a master of Envirotec

.paper1.jpg

Entry filed under: art, Paintings. Tags: , , , , .

A Family of Artists Still working on Harriton Carved Glass

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jamiedowns  |  February 18, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    This work is titled DS Papier because it is in remembrance of an old friend, Dorothea Scarpa, who often used a similar technique in her wonderful paintings.
    Jamie

    Reply
    • 2. Roberta  |  February 27, 2011 at 2:48 pm

      I just purchased 2 framed pieces of art done by Dorothea Scarpa can you tell me anything more about the artist?

      Reply
      • 3. Jamie  |  March 6, 2011 at 8:25 pm

        Dorothea was a very good friend and a fine artist. I have many of her pieces. I keep thinking about a portrait that Sterling Strauser did of her in his artist series. I wonder what ever happened to it?
        Dorothea went to the Art Students League and started out mostly in sculpture. Much of her work is mixed media and multi layered. She used caran dache and tissue paper and almost always acrylics. She knew oil painting techniques very well but prefered acrylics because of the fumes. Her husband was a good framer and she had a great eye for matting so her work was always presented nicely. It was usually non0objective but sometimes she had figurative elements. She did some with dancers (abstracted). She lived in NYC as a young person where she was born and raised. She lived in the Village when she was first married and then moved to the Oranges before moving to the Poconos (Leisurelands) where I met her. East Stroudsburg University has a collection of her work. I think it was donated by the collector Maxwell Cohen. She retired to Florida where she passed away a few years ago from long standing lung issues. I miss her. If you want to see her working with children check out my web site and click on the link for arts administration. There is a video. She is the large frame woman doing a hair montage with ships on a little boys head.

      • 4. Roberta  |  March 7, 2011 at 12:04 am

        Hi Jamie,
        Thank you so much for the information. I really liked watching her in the video thanks for sharing it.
        One of the peices I purchased of Dorothea’s was “the singing stairs of Atlantis” I guess she had it in an Art Gallery as the information is still on the back it.
        I am not an art collector but I love art especially this type.
        I took pictures of the vacation home we purchased in Florida before we left and I was able to crop one of the pictures that her painting in it, however I don’t know how to post it so that you can see it so if you are interested in seeing it please let me know.
        Thanks again.

        Roberta

      • 5. Jamie  |  March 7, 2011 at 12:33 am

        I’d love to see it if you have the chance. If it’s too complicated that’s fine. If I can I’ll post some pictures of the work I have.

      • 6. Roberta  |  March 7, 2011 at 9:42 pm

        I would love to see anything that you have of hers.
        Also if you send me your email address I can send you the picture I have as I don’t know how to upload it to this message.
        Thanks,
        Roberta

  • 7. jamiedowns  |  February 18, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    I have the wrong link for Eleanor’s work. Try:
    http://abstractart.hypermart.net/peace.html
    Here you will find work of numerous Pocono artists protesting the war, just before it started.

    Reply
  • 8. Tina  |  July 16, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Jamie,
    I am a relative of Dorothea Scarpa. My e-mail address is tgreenfield@dejazzd.com. I have a couple of pieces of Dorothea’s that I would love to give to someone that appreciates her work. Can you e-mail me.
    Thanks,
    Tina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Keep up to date….

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 558 other followers


